Sam Kerr, Jenni Hermoso and Rachel Daly among players nominated for FIFA Best Women's Player award

GFX Info Sam Kerr Jenni Hermoso Rachel DalyGetty/GOAL
  • Nominees for women's award announced
  • Four World Cup winners included
  • Current holder Putellas not nominated

WHAT HAPPENED? A total of four members of Spain's World Cup-winning team - Hermoso, Aitana Bonmati, Mapi Leon and Salma Paralluelo - have been nominated for the award. England's World Cup runners-up Daly, Alex Greenwood, Lauren James and Keira Walsh are all named, while Caitlin Foord, Mary Fowler and Kerr are up for the award after helping Australia to the semi-finals.

World Cup top scorer Hinata Miyasawa, United States and Lyon hero Lindsey Horan, Sweden sensation Amanda Ilestedt, Colombia and Real Madrid forward Linda Caicedo and Lyon's Kadidiatou Diani, who was the Division 1 Femenine top scorer, could also win the prize.

THE BIGGER PICTURE: The nominees for the award are based on performances between August 1 last year to August 20, 2023, when the Women’s World Cup final took place. Last year's winner, Alexia Putellas, was not among the nominees this year.

Article continues below


Sam Kerr Australia 2023Getty ImagesAitana Bonmati Golden Ball Spain Women's World Cup 2023GettyLauren James England Women 2023Getty

WHAT NEXT? Voting opens on September 14 and runs until October 6.