News Live Scores
Premier League

Premier League Hall of Fame: Which players have been inducted & everything you need to know

08:30 BST 21/04/2022
Premier League Hall of Fame Thierry Henry Alan Shearer
Didier Drogba, Sergio Aguero and Paul Scholes are among the latest icons to make the cut

The Premier League have officially unveiled their new Hall of Fame, where fans can choose their favourite players to be included and honoured for the prestigious award.

There have been so many iconic players to make their name in England's most prestigious competition and, after three decades, league bosses have decided to establish a definitive list of undisputed stars.

Goal has everything you need about the inaugural Premier League Hall of Fame, with the full list of inductees and shortlist.

What is the Premier League Hall of Fame?

The Premier League Hall of Fame honours and celebrates the very best who have played in the competition.

Individuals will be awarded with a membership to the Premier League Hall of Fame, set to recognise the true greats of English top-flight football.

Only players who were retired as of August 1 2020 are eligible for the Premier League Hall of Fame, and only their career in the Premier League will be taken into consideration during the selection process.

Each Hall of Fame inductee receives a personalised medal engraved with their induction year.

In 2021, the Premier League announced the first two players to be added to the Hall of Fame, alongside a shortlist of nominees. Fans were also able to vote for their preferred candidates.

In an official statement, the Premier League said: "Membership of the Premier League Hall of Fame will be the highest individual honour awarded to players by the League."

League chief, Richard Masters added: "Since 1992, the Premier League has been home to world-class players who have defined generations and provided us with compelling football season after season.

"A place in the Premier League Hall of Fame is reserved for the very best. It will be an occasion for our fans around the world to look back over the years and help us celebrate some truly exceptional playing careers."

Which players are in the Premier League Hall of Fame?




Alan Shearer

Blackburn Rovers, Newcastle


Thierry Henry



Eric Cantona

Leeds, Man Utd


Roy Keane

Nottingham Forest, Man Utd


Frank Lampard

West Ham, Chelsea, Man City


Dennis Bergkamp



David Beckham

Man Utd


Steven Gerrard



Wayne Rooney

Everton, Manchester United


Patrick Vieira

Arsenal, Manchester City


Ian Wright

Arsenal, West Ham


Peter Schmeichel

Man Utd, Aston Villa, Man City


Paul Scholes

Man Utd


Didier Drogba



Vincent Kompany

Man City


Sergio Aguero

Man City


Alan Shearer and Thierry Henry were the first two Premier League Hall of Fame inductees, announced in April 2021.

They were joined by Manchester United legends Eric Cantona and Roy Keane in May, with Chelsea hero Frank Lampard and Dennis Bergkamp also being included on the list.

David Beckham was also inducted in May 2021, along with Liverpool legend Steven Gerrard.

A total of eight players were inducted in 2021 from a list of a 23-man shortlist.

The first two inductees for 2022 were announced on March 23, with United's all-time record scorer Wayne Rooney and Patrick Vieira, another Arsenal invincible, making the cut.

On April 21, Ian Wright, Peter Schmeichel, Paul Scholes, Didier Drogba, Vincent Kompany and Sergio Aguero were honoured.

How to vote for Premier League Hall of Fame inductees

Voting is now closed.

Fans could vote for their Hall of Fame nominees on the official website. They were able to vote for a total of up to six candidates out of the 23-man shortlist.

Voting closed on May 9 at 6pm BST (1pm ET).

Premier League Hall of Fame shortlist

The 23-man shortlist for 2021 that fans could vote from included a glittering array of English football greats, including the legendary likes of Steven Gerrard, David Beckham, Eric Cantona, Frank Lampard and Ian Wright.

You can view the full list below.

PlayerClubYears active
Tony AdamsArsenal1992-2002
David BeckhamManchester United1994-2003
Dennis BergkampArsenal1995-2006
Sol CampbellArsenal1992-2011
Eric CantonaManchester United1992-1997
Andy ColeManchester United1993-2008
Ashley ColeChelsea1999-2014
Didier DrogbaChelsea2004-2012, 2014-2015
Les FerdinandNewcastle, Tottenham, West Ham, Leicester1992-2004
Rio FerdinandManchester United1995-2015
Robbie FowlerLiverpool1993 - 2008
Frank LampardChelsea1995-2015
Matthew Le TissierSouthampton1992-2002
Michael OwenLiverpool, Man Utd & Newcastle1996-2004, 2005-2013
Peter SchmeichelManchester United1992-1999, 2001-2003
Paul ScholesManchester United1993-2013
John TerryChelsea1998-2017
Robin van PersieArsenal2004-2015
Nemanja VidicManchester United2006-2014
Patrick VieiraArsenal1996-2005, 2010-2011
Ian WrightArsenal1992-1999

Further reading