Gor Mahia 4-0 Nakumatt: K'Ogalo kick off title defence with a resounding victory
Gor Mahia striker Jacques Tuyisenge and Meddie Kagere
Kagere scored in each half, hitting home his maiden goal in the 14-minute

Meddie Kagere opened his 2018 Kenyan Premier League campaign with a hat-trick to hand Gor Mahia a positive start in their title defence following a 4-0 win over Nakumatt.

Rwandan International, just needed 14 minutes on the pitch to score his first KPL goal of the season as K’Ogalo begins the title defence in a spectacular fashion at the Kenyatta Stadium in Machakos.

Coach Dylan Kerr paraded a scaring lineup against Nakumatt, fielding new catch Kevin Omondi who paired with Kagere upfront.

Article continues below

Former Tusker ace, Humphrey Mieno stood tall in the midfield while Harun Shakava, Joash Onyango, Wesley Onguso, Wellington Ochieng' lined up at the back.

With all these top class player on the pitch, defender Ochieng got time to roan around the pitch as Gor Mahia dictates the proceedings against a hapless Nakumatt.

Ochieng inked his name on the score sheet as K'Ogalo cruised to a convincing 4-0 win in the first match.

Kagere scored in each half, hitting home his maiden goal of the season in the 14-minute from a counter-attack that found Nakumatt defence napping.

Kagere, who scored in the Super Cup clash with AFC Leopards last week, scored his second goal of the match early in the second half before sealing the day with a hat-trick later on.

Former Tusker midfielder, Cercidy Okeyo came off the bench to set off Kagere for a second goal before the goal-poacher completed his hat-trick with 10 minutes left to the final whistle.

The job was not done yet for the reigning champions. Ochieng pounced on Omondi's cross and he wasted no chance when he buried the ball in the net from close range, just two minutes after Kagere's third goal for a 4-0 win for Gor Mahia.

Gor Mahia starting XI: Boniface  Oluoch, Harun Shakava, Joash Onyango, Wesley Onguso, Wellington Ochieng', Ernest Wendo, Humphrey Mieno, Francis Kahata, Samuel Onyango, Kevin Omondi, Kevin Omondi, Meddie Kagere.Reserves: Shaban Odhinji, Charles Momanyi, Boniface Omondi, Lawrence Juma, Cercidy Okeyo, Ephrem Guikan, Philemon Otieno.