News Matches
Ballon d'Or

Premier League, Bundesliga or LaLiga - Which league has produced most Ballon d'Or winners?

05:01 BST 06/07/2022
Kaka Messi Ronaldo
Lionel Messi has won the Ballon d'Or a record seven times...

Ballon d'Or is perhaps the greatest individual award in football, with the winner considered the best player in the world at the time.

The annual award by French weekly magazine named France Football is given to the best footballer of the year. While it was started exclusively for men, currently the award is presented to both men and women.

England's Stanley Mathews was the first recipient of this award in 1956 while Argentina's Lionel Messi has received the award on the most number of occasions, a record seven times.

Between 2010 and 2015, France Football had entered into an agreement with FIFA to merge the Ballon D'or temporarily with the FIFA World Player of the Year award which was started in 1991. In those six years, the new award was called FIFA Ballon d'Or. 

While LaLiga has produced the most Ballon d'Or winners, only two clubs from Spain have had their players win the coveted award.

LaLiga has also had the most number of awards courtesy of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Let's take a look at which league has produced most Ballon d'Or winners.

  • Lionel Messi Ballon d'Or 2021

    Ligue 1

    Clubs: PSG, Marseille

    No. of players: 2

    No. of wins: 2

    Players: Lionel Messi (1), Jean-Pierre Papin (1).

  • Denis Law, Cristiano Ronaldo, Bobby Charlton, Ballon d'Or winners

    Premier League

    Clubs: Manchester United, Blackpool, Liverpool

    No. of players: 6

    No. of wins: 6

    Players: Cristiano Ronaldo (1), Denis Law (1), Bobby Charlton (1), George Best (1), Michael Owen (1), Stanley Mathews (1).

  • Franz Beckenbauer Germany Netherlands World Cup 07071974


    Clubs: Bayern Munich, Hamburger SV, Borussia Dortmund, Borussia Monchengladbach

    No. of players: 6

    No. of wins: 9

    Players: Franz Beckenbauer (2), Karl-Heinz Rummenigge (2), Gerd Muller (1), Kevin Keegan (2), Matthias Sammer (1), Allan Simonsen (1).

  • Marco Van Basten Milan Ballon D'or

    Serie A

    Clubs: Juventus, AC Milan, Inter Milan

    No. of players: 14

    No. of wins: 18

    Players: Omar Sivori (1), Paolo Rossi (1), Michel Platini (3), Roberto Baggio (1), Zinedine Zidane (1), Pavel Nedved (1), Gianni Rivera (1), Ruud Gullit (1), Marco van Basten (3), George Weah (1), Andriy Shevchenko (1), Kaka (1), Ronaldo (1).

  • Lionel Messi Cristiano Ronaldo Ballon d'Or 2015


    Clubs: FC Barcelona, Real Madrid

    No. of players: 13

    No. of wins: 24

    Players: Lionel Messi (6), Johan Cruyff (2), Luis Suarez (1), Rivaldo (1), Ronaldinho (1), Hristo Stoichkov (1), Cristiano Ronaldo (5), Alfredo Di Stefano (2), Raymond Kopa (1), Luis Figo (1), Fabio Cannavaro (1), Luka Modric (1)