News Live Scores
UEFA Champions League

List: UEFA Champions League Golden Boot Winners

04:37 BST 12/04/2022
Messi and Ronaldo
Cristiano Ronaldo has won the most number of golden boots in the UEFA Champions League history...

The UEFA Champions League (UCL) golden boot is awarded to the player with the most number of goals at the end of the season in the competition. So far only 12 players have won the coveted prize more than once.

Cristiano Ronaldo remains the most successful player in this category having won the award a record seven times. His rival Lionel Messi comes second in the list, having won the boot on six occasions. In fact, apart from these two, no other active player has won the prestigious gong more than once. Moreover, from the 2007-08 season to 2018-19, the award was won either by Ronaldo or Messi. The only exception was the 2014-15 season where Neymar ended up sharing the award with Messi and Ronaldo.

The Portuguese also holds the record for scoring the most number of goals in a single season. In 2013-14, he found the net 17 times in UCL for Real Madrid, guiding the Spanish club to the UEFA Champions League title. In recent history, Robert Lewandowski came close to the tally when he netted 15 times in the 2019-20 season to win the golden boot.

Let us now take a look at the winners from the 1992 season onwards.

  • Romario

    Romario (PSV Eindhoven, 1992)

    Romario scored seven goals in nine matches to win the Golden Boot.

  • Ronald Koeman Barcelona

    Ronald Koeman (Barcelona) and Wynton Rufer (Werder Bremen) (1993-94)

    Ronald Koeman and Wynton Rufer both scored eight goals in the 1992-93 UCL campaign.

  • George Weah PSG

    George Weah (PSG, 1994-95)

    George Weah scored seven goals in 10 matches.

  • Jari Litmanen Ajax

    Jari Litmanen (Ajax, 1995-96)

    The Finnish striker scored nine goals in 10 matches.

  • Milinko Pantic Atletico Madrid

    Milinko Pantic (Atletico Madrid, 1996-97)

    Pantic scored five goals in eight matches for Atletico Madrid.

  • Alessandro Del Piero Juventus

    Alessandro Del Piero (Juventus, 1997-98)

    Alessandro Del Piero was in sensational form in the 1997-98 season as he scored 10 goals in 10 matches for Juventus.

  • Andriy Shevchenko (Dynamo Kyiv) & Dwight Yorke (Manchester United, 1998-99)

    Both Shevchenko and Yorke scored eight goals apiece for Dynamo Kyiv and Manchester United respectively.

  • Rivaldo Barcelona 1999

    Mario Jardel (Porto), Rivaldo (Barcelona), Raul (Real Madrid, 1999-2000)

    This is the first time in the UEFA Champions League history that three players were tied for the Golden Boot award. They scored 10 goals each for their respective clubs.

  • Raul Real Madrid FC Bayern 19022007

    Raul (Real Madrid, 2000-01)

    The Spanish forward scored seven goals in 12 matches to win the golden boot.

  • Ruud van Nistelrooy Manchester United Premier League

    Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United, 2001-02)

    The Dutch forward scored 10 goals in 14 matches for Manchester United.

  • Ruud van Nistelrooy Manchester United

    Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United, 2002-03)

    Nistelrooy bettered his tally from the previous season and scored 12 goals in just nine matches for Manchester United.

  • Morientes Monaco

    Fernando Morientes (Monaco, 2003-04)

    Morientes scored nine goals in 12 matches for Monaco in the 2003-04 UCL campaign.

  • Ruud van Nistelrooy Manchester United Arsenal Premier League 241004

    Ruud van Nistelrooy (Manchester United, 2004-05)

    Nistelrooy won his third UCL golden boot by scoring eight goals in seven matches.

  • Shevchenko Milan Juventus 2003

    Andriy Shevchenko (AC Milan, 2005-06)

    The Ukrainian striker scored nine goals for AC Milan in 12 matches.

  • Ricardo Kaka Milan Serie A

    Kaka (AC Milan, 2006-07)

    The Brazilian midfielder scored 10 goals in 13 matches to win his first golden boot award.

  • Cristiano Ronaldo (Manchester United, 2007-08)

    Ronaldo won the first of his seven golden boot awards during his stint at United scoring eight goals in 11 matches.

  • Messi Barcelona 2008

    Lionel Messi (Barcelona, 2008-09)

    Messi won his first golden boot award in Barcelona after scoring nine goals in 12 matches. He then went on to win this prize for the next three seasons consecutively.

  • Messi 2009

    Lionel Messi (Barcelona, 2009-10)

    The Argentine scored eight goals in 11 matches this season.

  • Messi 2011

    Lionel Messi (Barcelona, 2010-11)

    Messi scored 12 goals in 13 matches to win the golden boot for the third successive time.

  • Messi Barcelona 2012

    Lionel Messi (Barcelona, 2011-12)

    Messi further increased his tally in the next season to score 14 goals in just 10 matches.

  • Ronaldo  2012

    Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid. 2012-13)

    Ronaldo returned to win the golden boot, this time with Real Madrid, scoring 12 goals in 12 matches.

  • Ronaldo 2014

    Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid. 2013-14)

    Ronaldo was in scorching form this season as he netted 17 times in just 11 games.

  • Messi Neymar 2014

    Neymar (Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Barcelona), & Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid, 2014-15)

    The three prolific forwards were tied in this season as they scored 10 goals each.

  • Ronaldo 2015-16

    Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid, 2015-16)

    Ronaldo won the UCL golden boot for the fourth time scoring 16 goals in 12 matches.

  • Ronaldo 2016

    Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid, 2016-17)

    Ronaldo's fifth golden boot was won by the virtue of scoring 12 goals in 13 matches.

  • Ronaldo 2018

    Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid, 2017-18)

    The former Real Madrid striker won his seventh UCL golden boot in the 2017-18 season after scoring 15 goals in 13 matches.

  • Messi 2019

    Lionel Messi (Barcelona, 2018-19)

    Messi reclaimed the golden boot award after a lengthy spell scoring 12 goals in 10 matches for Barcelona.

  • Lewandowski 2020

    Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, 2019-20)

    The Messi-Ronaldo dominance was finally broken by Robert Lewandowski as he scored 15 goals in just 10 matches to win the golden boot.

  • Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund, 2020-21)

    The Norwegian striker won his golden boot award for Borussia Dortmund when he scored 10 goals in eight matches.