Yashin Trophy 2023: Nominees revealed for Ballon d'Or's best goalkeeper award

Comments (0)
Yashin Trophy 2023 nominees GFX
Previous winners of the award include Alisson Becker and Thibaut Courtois, but who will claim this year's prize at the ceremony on October 30?

Only one goalkeeper has ever won the Ballon d'Or: Lev Yashin, in 1963. So, in a bid to ensure more shot-stoppers were recognised at their annual ceremonies in Paris, France Football introduced the Yashin Trophy in 2019 to recognise the best goalkeeper from the previous season.

Voted for by past Ballon d'Or winners, previous recipients of the award include Alisson Becker, Gianluigi Donnarumma and Thibaut Courtois, and it is sure to be hotly-contested in 2023.

We will have to wait until the Ballon d'Or ceremony on Monday, October 30 to find out the winner, but for now, here is the shortlist of nominees:

  1. Yassine Bounou (Al-Hilal)

    Yassine Bounou (Al-Hilal)

    Morocco made history at the Qatar 2022 World Cup, becoming the first-ever African nation to reach the semi-finals of the competition. The knockout penalty saves of their star goalkeeper Yassine Bounou contributed massively to that journey, and the 32-year-old also had a great season domestically, winning the Europa League with Sevilla and being named Player of the Match in the final against Roma.

  2. Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)
    Getty Images

    Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid)

    Thibaut Courtois' stellar 2022-23 season with Real Madrid made him the recipient of last year's Yashin Trophy, and he's amongst the contenders again this time round. While Los Blancos missed out on La Liga or Champions League glory in 2023, he still had an impressive campaign and was integral in helping them win the Copa del Rey.

  3. Mike Maignan (AC Milan)

    Mike Maignan (AC Milan)

    French international Mike Maignan's recent performances for AC Milan led to GOAL labelling him the world's best goalkeeper earlier this year. His logic-defying shot-stopping has attracted the attention of fans all over the world, and he'll be one of the favourites to get his hands on the 2023 Yashin Trophy.

  4. Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona)
    Getty Images

    Marc-Andre Ter Stegen (Barcelona)

    For years, Ter Stegen has been considered one of the greatest keepers on the planet. In 2022-23, he only strengthened that reputation, keeping a remarkable 26 clean sheets in 38 La Liga games and conceding just 18 league goals all season as Barcelona strode to a first title under club legend Xavi.

  5. Ederson (Manchester City)
    Getty Images

    Ederson (Manchester City)

    The Manchester City No. 1 receives his third Yashin Trophy nomination, having already been shortlisted in 2019 and 2022. After a history-making season in which his shot-stopping, distribution, and outrageous footwork helped provide the foundations for City's much coveted treble, he'll be hoping he can finally land the top prize.

  6. Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa)

    Emiliano Martinez (Aston Villa)

    Argentina's first-choice goalkeeper makes headlines wherever he goes, whether it's for eye-catching antics like holding the World Cup Golden Glove trophy to his crotch in celebration, or for his outstanding penalty and open play saves on the biggest stage of all. He played a major role in Argentina's dramatic 2022 World Cup final victory, and will be one of the leading contenders for the Yashin Trophy as a result.

  7. Andre Onana (Manchester United)

    Andre Onana (Manchester United)

    Onana's €51m move from Inter to Manchester United this summer is a testament to how highly-rated the Cameroon international is. His displays helped guide Inter to a Champions League final last season against the odds, and his ability on the ball has been deemed crucial in Ten Hag's mission to make United a serious title-challenging force once more.

  8. Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

    Aaron Ramsdale (Arsenal)

    David Raya's recent move from Brentford to Arsenal will give Ramsdale fierce competition for the No. 1 spot at the Emirates, but he has everything it takes to provide the firm foundation for another title challenge with the Gunners. Last season, his talismanic displays at the back allowed Arsenal to give Man City a serious run for their money, and that contribution is reflected in his Yashin nomination.

  9. Dominik Livakovic (Fenerbahce)

    Dominik Livakovic (Fenerbahce)

    Livakovic's heroic performances at the World Cup helped Croatia battle their way past Brazil and Japan on penalties, his country once again defying expectations and eventually winning the third-place play-off against Morocco. Without the 28-year-old — who also won a sixth straight title with Dinamo Zagreb — it's highly unlikely they would've made it that far.

  10. Brice Samba (Lens)
    Getty Images

    Brice Samba (Lens)

    Finishing in second place with only a point less than champions PSG, Lens were Ligue 1's surprise package last season. Behind attacking talents like Elye Wahi and Florian Sotoca, Samba played a pivotal role in that success, keeping 15 clean sheets in 38 games and winning the Ligue 1 Goalkeeper of the Year award.