News Matches
Real Madrid vs Chelsea

Why did VAR rule out Marcos Alonso's goal for Chelsea in Champions League second leg vs Real Madrid?

5:20 PM EDT 4/12/22
Real Madrid Chelsea VAR
A video review determined the full-back's arm helped control the ball before he shot past Thibaut Courtois

Chelsea's Marcos Alonso thought he had a dramatic go-ahead goal in the second half of the Champions League quarter-final against Real Madrid, but VAR controversially wiped out his strike for handball.

The strike would have given the Blues a 4-3 aggregate lead in the second leg, however the slightest of touches off Alonso's arm was deemed enough for it not to count. Thomas Tuchel's team protested the 64th-minute call to no avail, as the match remained level with less than a half hour to go in regular time.

Ten minutes later, Timo Werner put the Blues ahead only for Rodrygo to make it 4-4 moments later and Karim Benzema to score the go-ahead goal in extra time.

Watch: Alonso's goal ruled out

What has been said?

"I you play against Madrid, sometimes you can maybe not expect that everyone has the courage [to make the right calls]," Tuchel told reporters after the match.

"I felt the little decisions also in the first leg and the second leg today as well.

"I did not see the goal but I told him that I was super disappointed that he does not come out and check it on his own [instead of using VAR].

"In a match like this where you have a certain line to whistle you should stay the boss and not give decisions like this to somebody in a chair who is isolated from the atmosphere and from the way how a referee, he has a certain style, certain things that he allows and does not allow and he follows a certain line so I think he should stay in charge and check it on his own then he could also explain it better."

For permanent access to GOAL's Champions League newsletter, sign-up free here.