This page contains affiliate links. When you subscribe through the links provided, we may earn a commission.

Carabao Cup 2023-24: Draw, fixtures, results & guide to each round

Carabao Cup trophy(C)Getty Images

The Carabao Cup has returned for its 64th season with a total of 92 teams from from the span of the English football pyramid fighting it out for a shot at silverware in 2023-24.

Manchester United are the defending champions, with Erik ten Hag's Red Devils defeating Newcastle United in the final at Wembley last season. As well as prize money, the winner of this competition also qualifies for Europe, so there is plenty at stake.

GOAL has all the details about the 2023-24 edition, including draw information, fixtures, dates, results, TV information and more.

Article continues below

This page contains affiliate links. When you subscribe through the links, we may earn a commission.

Watch Carabao Cup on ESPN+
Start a Sky Sports subscription today

Carabao Cup fourth round draw, fixtures & results

English champions Manchester City were knocked out in the previous round by Newcastle, but current cup holders Manchester United remain in contention, as do the likes of Arsenal, Chelsea and Liverpool.

W/c Oct 30Mansfield vs Port Vale
W/c Oct 30Ipswich vs Fulham
W/c Oct 30Manchester United vs Newcastle
W/c Oct 30Bournemouth vs Liverpool
W/c Oct 30Chelsea vs Blackburn
W/c Oct 30West Ham vs Arsenal
W/c Oct 30Everton vs Burnley
W/c Oct 30Exeter vs Middlesbrough

Carabao Cup third round draw, fixtures & results

Eight more Premier League teams enter the Carabao Cup in the third round, with Manchester United, Manchester City, Arsenal, Newcastle, Liverpool, Brighton and West Ham all coming into the competition.

Sep 26Bradford City 0-2 Middlesbrough
Sep 26Ipswich Town 3-2 Wolverhampton
Sep 26Mansfield Town 2-2 Peterborough (pens 3-1)
Sep 26Port Vale 2-1 Sutton United
Sep 26Salford 0-4 Burnley
Sep 26Exeter City 1-0 Luton Town
Sep 26Manchester United 3-0 Crystal Palace
Sep 27Aston Villa 1-2 Everton
Sep 27Blackburn 5-2 Cardiff City
Sep 27Bournemouth 2-0 Stoke City
Sep 27Brentford 0-1 Arsenal
Sep 27Liverpool 3-2 Leicester City
Sep 27Lincoln 0-1 West Ham
Sep 27Fulham 2-1 Norwich
Sep 27Chelsea 1-0 Brighton
Sep 27Newcastle United 1-0 Manchester City

Carabao Cup second round draw, fixtures and results

Like the first round, the second round of the Carabao Cup is divided into two sections: north and south.

Thirty-six first round winners are joined by 12 teams from the Premier League League who are not competing in any European competition. Games will be played on the week commencing August 28.

In the UK, Salford City vs Leeds United will be broadcast live on Sky Sports, as will the game between Doncaster Rovers and Everton.

North Section

Aug 29Bolton 1-3 Middlesbrough
Aug 29Port Vale 0-0 Crewe (pens 2-0)
Aug 29Salford City 1-1 Leeds United (pens 9-8)
Aug 29Sheffield Wednesday 1-1 Mansfield Town (pens 4-5)
Aug 29Stoke City 6-1 Rotherham United
Aug 29Tranmere Rovers 0-2 Leicester City
Aug 29Wolves 5-0 Blackpool
Aug 29Wrexham 1-1 Bradford City (pens 3-4)
Aug 30Doncaster Rovers 1-2 Everton
Aug 30Harrogate Town 0-8 Blackburn Rovers
Aug 30Nottingham Forest 0-1 Burnley
Aug 30Sheffield United 0-0 (2-3 on pens) Lincoln City

South Section

Aug 29Birmingham City 1-3 Cardiff City
Aug 29Bristol City 0-1 Norwich City
Aug 29Exeter City 1-1 Stevenage (pens 5-3)
Aug 29Fulham 1-1 Tottenham (pens 5-3)
Aug 29Luton Town 3-2 Gillingham
Aug 29Newport County 1-1 Brentford (pens 0-3)
Aug 29Plymouth Argyle 2-4 Crystal Palace
Aug 29Portsmouth 1-1 Peterborough United (pens 4-5)
Aug 29Reading 2-2 Ipswich Town (pens 1-3)
Aug 29Swansea City 2-3 Bournemouth
Aug 29Wycombe Wanderers 0-1 Sutton United
Aug 30Chelsea 2-1 Wimbledon

Carabao Cup first round draw, fixtures and results

The first round of the Carabao Cup is divided into two sections: north and south.

All 24 teams from Championship were joined by 24 teams from League One and 24 teams from League Two. Games were played on August 8 and August 9, with one game scheduled for August 16.

North Section

Aug 8Huddersfield Town 2-3 Middlesbrough
Aug 8Mansfield Town 2-0 Grimsby Town
Aug 8Accrington Stanley 1-1 Bradford City (1-4P)
Aug 8Barnsley 2-2 Tranmere Rovers (6-7P)
Aug 8Blackburn Rovers 4-3 Walsall
Aug 8Bolton Wanderers 1-0 Barrow
Aug 8 Derby County 0-2 Blackpool
Aug 8Harrogate Town 1-0 Carlisle United
Aug 8Hull City 1-2 Doncaster Rovers
Aug 8Harrogate 1-0 Carlisle United
Aug 8Notts County 0-2 Lincoln City
Aug 8Port Vale 3-2 Fleetwood Town
Aug 8Preston 2-2 Salford City (2-4P)
Aug 8Port Vale 3-2 Fleetwood Town
Aug 8Rotherham 1-1 Morecambe (4-2P)
Aug 8Sheffield Wednesday 1-1 Stockport County (4-1)
Aug 8Sunderland 1-1 Crewe (3-5P)
Aug 8Wrexham 0-0 Wigan Athletic (4-2P)
Aug 9Leeds United 2-1 Shrewsbury Town
Aug 9Burton Albion 0-2 Leicester

South Section

Aug 8Newport County 3-1 Charlton Athletic
Aug 8Peterborough United 1-1 Swindon Town (4-1P)
Aug 8Swansea City 3-0 Northampton Town
Aug 8Cheltenham Town 0-2 Birmingham City
Aug 8Exeter City 2-1 Crawley Town
Aug 8Forest Green 1-3 Portsmouth
Aug 8Gillingham 3-1 Southampton
Aug 8Millwall 0-4 Reading
Aug 8MK Dons 0-2 Wycombe Wanderers
Aug 8Plymouth Argyle 2-0 Leyton Orient
Aug 8Stevenage 1-1 Watford (4-3P)
Aug 8Sutton United 2-2 Cambridge United (6-5P)
Aug 9Wimbledon 2-1 Coventry
Aug 9Bristol City 5-1 Oxford United
Aug 9Cardiff City 2-2 Colchester United (3-0P)
Aug 9Ipswich Town 2-0 Bristol Rovers
Aug 16QPR 0-1 Norwich City

Carabao Cup TV channel & live stream

Sky Sports hold the rights to broadcast Carabao Cup games and round draws in the UK. Matches are usually shown on Sky Sports Football and available to stream live online using the Sky Go facility.

In the U.S., ESPN broadcasts a selection of games from the Carabao Cup.

Watch Carabao Cup on ESPN+
Start a Sky Sports subscription today

When is the Carabao Cup 2023-24 final?

Game:Carabao Cup final 2024
Date:February 25, 2024
Venue:Wembley Stadium, London
TV channel & stream:Sky Sports (UK) / ESPN+ (U.S.)

In what will be the first piece of major silverware of the 2023/24 season, the Carabao Cup final is scheduled for Sunday February 25, 2024.

It will be held at Wembley Stadium, London, which is the traditional venue for showpiece cup final events and promotion play-offs in England.

Carabao Cup 2023-24 dates

The 2023-24 Carabao Cup kicks off on the week commencing August 7, 2023 and will conclude on February 25, 2024.

You can see the complete round dates and number of games in the table below.




First round


w/c August 7

Second round


w/c August 28

Third round


w/c September 25

Fourth round


w/c October 30



w/c December 18


4 (2 legs)

w/c January 8 / 21, 2024



February 25, 2024

Who won the Carabao Cup last season?

Manchester United won the Carabao Cup in 2022-23. The Red Devils ended a six-year trophy drought by beating Newcastle United 2-0 in the Carabao Cup final at Wembley on 26 February, 2023.

The Red Devils manager Erik ten Hag won the first piece of silverware of his Old Trafford reign thanks to a Casemiro header and a Sven Botman own goal.