Sofapaka 0-3 Gor Mahia: K’Ogalo will be crowned if they draw against AFC Leopards

Goal Kenya.
A draw against rivals Ingwe will be enough to give coach Dylan Kerr his second title since joining Gor Mahia from Simba SC

Gor Mahia will now need a point from their derby against AFC Leopards to win a record 17th league title.

This is after K’Ogalo cruised to a comfortable 3-0 win over Sofapaka to leave the champions needing a point from their next match.

The Kenyan champions scored via Joachim Oluoch, Innocent Wafula and Samuel Onyango. A draw against rivals Ingwe will be enough to give coach Dylan Kerr his second title since joining Gor Mahia from Simba SC of Tanzania.

Sofapaka should have taken an early lead after Kepha Aswani missed from the penalty spot. The missed chance turned out to hurt the team as Joachim Oluoch sneaked a goal past an erratic Wycliffe Kasaya for a comfortable 1-0 lead at half-time.

A moment of madness from Kasaya saw Sofapaka reduced to 10-men after the former Mathare United custodian was given his marching orders.

Kasaya took time to clear a seemingly harmless back pass to allow Bernard Ondiek to close the gap, leaving him with no option but to bring him down inside the box. The referee flashed a straight red card throwing coach John Baraza to another moment of confusion with little time to make a decision. 

The former Kenyan striker pulled out Justin Michu for Mathias Kigonya but the Ugandan custodian conceded a goal just 35 seconds after stepping into the pitch when Wafula buried his spot kick into the net for a 2-0 lead.

Samuel Onyango grabbed the third goal six minutes to the final whistle to help Gor Mahia take their point tally to 68 and just one will hand them the title with seven games to spare.

Sofapaka XI: Wycliffe Kasaya (GK), George Maelo, Willis Ouma (c), Mousa Omar, Mohammed Kilume, Elli Asieche, Brian Doya Magonya, Kepha Aswani, Mico Justin and Ezekiel Okare. 

Article continues below

Subs: Mathias Kigonya (GK), Yusuf Mohammed, Pistone Mutamba, Timothy Luda, Stephen Waruru and Rodgers Aloro.

Gor Mahia XI: Fredrick Odhiambo, Karim Nizigiyimana, Wesley Onguso, Charles Momanyi, Joachim Oluoch, Lawrence Juma, Cercidy Okeyo, Innocent Wafula, Lokiwam Eliud, Samuel Onyango and Ondiek Bernard.

Subs: Shaban Odhoji, Omondi Bernard, Asudi Raphael, Okiro Stephen and Francis Mustapha.

Next article:
'It's a chance to become legends' - Gillespie challenges Reds to finally win Premier League
Next article:
De Bruyne admits Liverpool would be worthy champions if Reds can hold off Manchester City
Next article:
Levante to take Barca Copa del Rey case to CAS
Next article:
Jose Mourinho on 2022 World Cup in Qatar - 'I think it's going to be a fantastic event'
Next article:
'He's a sensational guy' - Filipe Luis backs 'extraordinary' Neymar