News
Chelsea

'I don't get it!' - Chalobah questions referee after receiving stitches from Keita tackle in Carabao Cup final

5:34 AM WAT 28/02/2022
Chalobah Carabao Cup Liverpool Chelsea 2020
The Blues star was taken down in the 58th minute in one of the game's controversial incidents

Trevor Chalobah has revealed he needed stitches due to Naby Keita's tackle in the Carabao Cup final as the Chelsea defender questioned the referee's decision not to send off the Liverpool star.

Keita's Liverpool beat Chalobah's Chelsea in an epic final, with the Reds winning 11-10 in a penalty shootout after a scoreless draw.

Chalobah questioned a controversial tackle that occurred long before that penalty shootout, while revealing the extent of the injury he received.

What happened?

Keita collided with Chalobah in the 58th minute, appearing to catch the Chelsea midfielder with his studs. The Liverpool midfielder was shown a yellow card for the foul and a VAR review did not lead to further punishment, with ex-Chelsea star Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink left stunned that Keita wasn't punished further.

 “I’m surprised nothing has been said about it. We are now looking at it but for me Keita’s movement, he slows down," he said.

“Then he goes for the tackle. They both go for the but Keita totally misses the ball. If you look here he totally misses the ball and hits the player really hard.

“For me, that is endangering the opposition. Endangering the player and that should be a red card. I don’t understand that the referee didn’t see it.

“I don’t understand at all that VAR has not seen it because this is really bad. I’m very surprised, very, very surprised.”

Chalobah responds

Chalobah took to Twitter to respond to the ongoing discussion about the foul, saying that he needed to get stitches because of Keita's tackle.

Further reading