AFC Cup 2018: Playoff Roundup - Bengaluru FC, FC Ahal & Hwaepul SC qualify

Comments (0)
Bengaluru v TC Sports
The three remaining teams to enter the group stages of the tournament were finalised this week...

The playoffs in the South, Central and East Zones of the AFC Cup came to a close this week. Here's a recap of what transpired.

Bengaluru FC 5-0 TC Sports Club (Dovale 12', 35' 48' Paartalu 36' Bheke 90') | Aggregate: 8-2

Indian side Bengaluru FC qualified for the South Zone group stages of the AFC Cup after romping to a 5-0 win over Maldives' TC Sports Club on Tuesday. 

Spanish winger Toni Dovale was the star of the night for Bengaluru with a sumptuous hat-trick while Erik Paartalu and Rahul Bheke completed the scoring for them. The side from Maldives could not muster even a goal back and ended up being outclassed 8-2 on aggregate. 

Article continues below

Bengaluru now join Aizawl FC, Dhaka Abahani and New Radiant in Group E. 

FC Khujand 0-2 FC Ahal (Wezirgeldi 49' Suleyman 52') | Aggregate 0-3

Turkmenistan's FC Ahal made their way into the Central Zone group stages after notching 2-0 win away from home over Tajikistan's FC Khujand on Tuesday. 

Two quickfire second-half goals from Ylyasov Wezirgeldi and Muhadov Suleyman were enough for Ahal to emerge victorious 3-0 on aggregate. 

They now join FC Istiklol, Altyn Asyr and Alay Osh in Group D. 

Hwaepul SC 3-0 FC Erchim (Kuk-Chol 27' Kwang-Jin 41' Chung-Il 45') | Aggregate: 7-0 

 North Korea's Hwaepul SC eased into the East Zone group stages after getting the better of Mongolian outfit FC Erchim 3-0 on Tuesday. 

Defender Jang Kuk-Chol, Choe Kwang-Jin and Jon Chung-Il scored the goals on the night for Hwaesul which meant they trounced Erchim by an aggregate margin of 7-0. 

They join April 25 SC, Hang Yuen and Benfica de Macau in Group I.