News Live Scores
WC Qualification Africa

2022 World Cup qualifiers: Nigeria include Lookman, Dennis in squad to play Ghana but Awoniyi, Onuachu in reserve

4:40 PM IST 04/03/22
Ademola Lookman
The Super Eagles will be away to the Black Stars in the first leg to be played on March 25

The Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) have named a provisional 30-man squad to prepare for the World Cup Qualifying playoff tie against Ghana.

The Super Eagles were paired against the Black Stars of Ghana and are set to play away in the first leg scheduled for March 25 before hosting the second one four days later.

Among those who have made a return to the team are Watford star Emmanuel Dennis, who controversially missed the Africa Cup of Nations finals held in Cameroon earlier this year.

New recruit Ademola Lookman of Leicester City is also in the team alongside youngster Akinkunmi Amoo.

However, Paul Onuachu and Taiwo Awoniyi have been named in a standby list.

Nigeria full squad:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, Netherlands)

Defenders: Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Calvin Bassey (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC, England); Akinkunmi Amoo (FC Copenhagen, Denmark)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal FC, Spain); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Sadiq Umar (UD Almeria, Spain); Odion Jude Ighalo (Al-Hilal FC, Saudi Arabia); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Emmanuel Dennis (Watford FC, England); Ademola Lookman (Leicester City, England)

Reserves: Chidozie Awaziem (Alanyaspor FC, Turkey); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Taiwo Awoniyi (Union Berlin, Germany); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium); Peter Olayinka (SK Slavia Praha, Czech Republic); Ogenyi Onazi (Al-Adalah FC, Saudi Arabia)