INSIDE SIAM: Toyota Thai League 2017 round 1

Comments (0)
Toyota Thai League flag
The first weekend of 2017 Thai League 1 saw the defending champions Muangthong United enjoyed the weekend, while Buriram came from 2 goals down.

ซิสโก้ ฆิเมเนซ - แมตต์ สมิธ

Bangkok Glass FC 0-4 SCG Muangthong United

SCG Muangthong United on Saturday night recorded a comfortable victory in the first week of Thai League 2017 campaign. The emphatic scoreline flatters the Kirins slightly, but there's no doubt that this performance was impressive one from away side. They constantly caused problems for Bangkok Glass’ back line, as they solid at both ends of the pitch and were particularly impressive in front of goal. 

Xisco Jimenez finished brilliantly to make it 1-0 on the stroke of half-time and Muangthong maintained their supremacy after the break. 

Cleiton Silva doubled their lead, deflected in Theerathon Bunmathan’s cross on 63 minutes, before the Xisco’s second goal and a late Peerapat Notchaiya strike confirmed the three points that lifted Muangthong to 2nd, while the Glass Rabbits remain 17th. 

Article continues below
IN PICTURES: Thai League is back.


บุรีรัมย์ ยูไนเต็ด - ชลบุรี เอฟซี

Buriram United 2-2 Chonburi FC

Truly exciting stuff in Toyota Thai League. Chonburi had a glorious chance to win but Buriram, who had a superb game, denied their victory. Both teams played well, but will be left bitterly frustrated that they couldn't make their fine chances pay. 

The Sharks fired themselves into the first half 2-0 lead thanks to the two class finishes from winger Nurul Sriyankem.

But Jakson Coelho, simply Jajá, and Ottesen secured the hosts, hammering visitors a thunderous effort to seal a deserve share of the spoils that placed both sides in the middle of the table, the Thunder Castle at 8th and Chonburi FC at 9th.

Other results

Saturday, 11 February, 2017
Port FC 1-1 Ratchaburi Mitrphol FC
Sisaket FC 0-2 Ubon UMT United
Suphanburi FC 2-1 Thai Honda Ladkrabang FC
BEC Tero Sasana 2-0 Pattaya United

Sunday, 12 February, 2017
Chiangrai United 4-0 Super Power Samutprakan FC
Bangkok United 1-0 Navy FC
Sukhothai FC 0-1 Nakhonratchasima Mazda FC