News Matches
8 Cup

Most MTN8 title winners list: Orlando Pirates close in on stagnant Kaizer Chiefs

4:45 PM GMT 06/11/2022
Zakhele Lepasa, Orlando Pirates & Njabulo Blom, Kaizer Chiefs, 2020
The Buccaneers clinched their second Top 8 title since 2020 on Saturday night as they moved closer to their archrivals, Kaizer Chiefs.

Orlando Pirates edged out AmaZulu FC 1-0 in this year's MTN8 final which took place at Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.
Monnapule Saleng's first-half goal earned the Buccaneers a narrow win over Usuthu whose long wait for a major trophy continues. 
The win ended Pirates' two-year trophy drought, but where do Bucs rank on the list of teams who have won the Top 8 titles?

  • SuperSport United celebrate MTN8 triumph

    4 - SuperSport United

    Matsatsantsa are three-time winners of the Top 8 competition and they were at some point called the Cup Kings of SA football as they won back to back cups.
    The Tshwane giants were crowned champions in 2004 when the tournament was still known as the SAA Supa 8, before lifting the MTN8 in 2017 and 2019.

  • Moroka Swallows MTN8

    4 - Swallows FC

    The Beautiful Birds are another three-time winner having lifted their maiden trophy in 1975 (BP Top 8) - becoming the third team to win the competition after Chiefs and Pirates.
    Swallows clinched their second title four years later and they had to wait 37 years for their next trophy as Zeca Marques led the Soweto giants to a 2012 MTN8 triumph.

  • Bidvest Wits bench during the MTN8 final

    4 - Bidvest Wits

    The Students are joint fourth on the list having won three titles before the club's status was sold to Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila at the end of the 2019-20 season.
    Wits clinched their first two trophies when the tournament was still known as the BP Top 8 - lifting it in 1984 and 1995.
    The third trophy came during the 2016-17 season as the Students did a league and cup double under coach Gavin Hunt.

  • Andile Jali & Kermit Erasmus, Mamelodi Sundowns, October 2021

    3 - Mamelodi Sundowns

    Despite their recent dominance of SA football, Masandawana are placed third on this list having won four Top 8 titles since the competition's formation in 1972.
    Sundowns won their first two titles in 1988 and 1990 as the Tshwane giants played their famous Shoe and Shine brand of football.
    The Brazilians lifted the 2007 SAA Supa 8 after defeating Pirates in the final and the 2021 MTN8 trophy under co-coaches Rhulani Mokwena and Manqoba Mngqithi.

  • Orlando Pirates win MTN8 final 2022

    2 - Orlando Pirates

    The Buccaneers are one of the most successful clubs in the history of the competition having clinched their 11th trophy when they defeated AmaZulu.
    Pirates enjoyed early dominance in this competition lifting the first two titles in 1972 and 1973, and they ended up winning the tournament seven times under the name BP Top 8, but the Soweto giants failed to win it as the SAA Supa 8.
    Since 2008 when multinational mobile telecommunications company, MTN8 began sponsoring the tournament, Pirates have won this competition a record four times. 

  • 2014 MTN8 champions Kaizer Chiefs

    1 - Kaizer Chiefs

    Despite their current seven-year trophy, Amakhosi remain the most decorated club in the history of the Top 8 with a record 15 titles.
    However, Chiefs are now four titles ahead of Pirates who are slowly edging closer to the Glamours Boys with the Buccaneers having won two of their last three trophies. 
    Chiefs were very dominant in the BP Top 8 era - winning 12 trophies between 1974 and 2002 hence they are the original Cup Kings of SA football.
    The Soweto giants have since won the 2006 SAA Supa 8 and two MTN8 trophies in 2008, and 2014 which remains their last Top 8 title.