News Matches
Black Label Cup

Kaizer Chiefs or Orlando Pirates - Who won the most Carling Black Label Cups? - A blast from the past

8:35 AM GMT 10/11/2022
Kgaogelo Sekgota Kaizer Chiefs Thembinkosi Lorch Orlando Pirates
All eyes are on this weekend's Carling Black Label Cup which will feature four teams for the first time in the history of the competition.

Kaizer Chiefs, Orlando Pirates, Mamelodi Sundowns and AmaZulu FC will take part in the one-day tournament at FNB Stadium on Saturday.
For the first time in the history of the high-profile unofficial tournament it will feature four teams as AmaZulu and Sundowns join perennial participants Chiefs and Pirates.
This will be the 10th edition of the Carling Black Label Cup, but which team has won the most trophies? 
GOAL goes through the previous editions.

  • Itumeleng Khune in action for Kaizer Chiefs

    Bucs win inaugural tournament

    Pirates won the inaugural tournament after beating Chiefs 4-3 on penalties after the game had ended in a 0-0 draw in July 2011.

    It was left to Itumeleng Khune to try and keep Chiefs in the contest and send the shootout to sudden death, but the Amakhosi goalkeeper blazed his spot kick over the crossbar as the Buccaneers won on penalties.

  • Benni McCarthy, Orlando Pirates & Dominic Isaacs, Kaizer Chiefs, 2012

    Buccaneers make it two wins in a row

    Pirates clinched their second successive Carling Black Label Cup after defeating Chiefs 5-4 on penalties following a 1-1 draw in July 2012.

    Abia Nale's first half goal was cancelled out by Benni McCarthy's stoppage time strike as the Buccaneers showed character.

  • Orlando Pirates Kaizer Chiefs Senzo Meyiwa Lehlohonolo Majoro Absa Premiership

    Amakhosi claim maiden title

    Chiefs won the competition for the first time in 2013 after securing a narrow 1-0 win over Pirates.

    Lehlonoholo Majoro's first half goal earned Amakhosi the win - seven months before the striker joined the Buccaneers.

  • Thabo Matlaba of Orlando Pirates

    Bucs reclaim CBL trophy

    Pirates reclaimed the trophy after defeating Chiefs 6-5 on penalties following a 0-0 draw in July 2014.

    It was Thabo Matlaba's spot kick that clinched victory for the Buccaneers after the teams took 18 nail-biting penalty kicks.

  • Sifiso Myeni, Orlando Pirates, 2015

    Pirates continue their dominance

    The Buccaneers continued their dominance by clinching their fourth title after defeating Chiefs 4-3 on penalties following a 1-1 draw in July 2015.

    Sifiso Myeni scored in the first half to hand Pirates a half-time lead and Reneilwe Letsholonyane netted after the restart to ensure that the game ended in a draw.

  • Kaizer Chiefs, Erick Mathoho & Itumeleng Khune

    Amakhosi win second title

    Chiefs beat Pirates 2-0 thanks to goals from Erick Mathoho and debutant Lewis Macha which were both scored in the second half in July 2016.

    It was the first time in the history of the tournament that a team had won by more than one goal.

  • Innocent Maela, Orlando Pirates & Bernard Parker, Kaizer Chiefs, February 2019

    Chiefs retain title

    An early goal by Bernard Parker inspired Chiefs to a 1-0 win over Pirates in July 2017.

    The competition was in its seventh year of existence and it was also Amakhosi's third title.

  • Wiseman Meyiwa and Thembinkosi Lorch - Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates

    Pirates win CBL Cup for the fifth time

    Pirates defeated rivals Chiefs 2-0 in July 2019 as they lifted the trophy for the fifth time.

    Augustine Mulenga and Thembinkosi Lorch netted for the Buccaneers on the day.

  • Brandon Petersen, Kaizer Chiefs, August 2021

    Amakhosi clinch the Cup on its return

    With the 2020 edition having been postponed due to the Covid-19 pandemic, Chiefs were crowned champions after defeating Pirates 4-3 on penalties after a 0-0 draw in July 2021.

    Brandon Petersen was the hero for Amakhosi on his unofficial debut for the club as the Cape Town-born shot-stopper saved two penalties during the shootout following an action-packed Soweto Derby encounter.

  • Orlando Pirates Thembinkosi Lorch Vincent Pule.jpg

    Pirates are the kings

    The Buccaneers have lifted a record five Carling Black Label Cups, while Chiefs have won the tournament four times.

    Can Pirates continue their dominance in this competition on Saturday?