News Live Scores

PSL launch mini-tournament to be staged during 2021 Afcon period

12:58 GMT 13/12/2021
Dr Irvin Khoza July 6 2018
The tournament will bring together all the 16 teams in the top-flight and has been split into four groups

Premier Soccer League has launched a mini-tournament dubbed DStv Compact Cup that will run during the period of the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations.

According to idiskitimes, with the league action set to take a break and resume in February, the tournament pencilled for January 22 to 29, 2022, will look to keep the players active and fit with competitive fixtures – while offering the chance for some of the club’s prospects to earn some game time.

The tournament, which was announced by PSL chairman Irvin Khoza, will require at least one DStv Diski Player in each starting line-up while the head coach and assistant coach, as well as players, will be selected by supporters through a voting system like the Black Label Cup.

Speaking during the launch, Khoza said: “This is yet another amazing innovation. It will be refreshing that the responsibility of team selection, technical team, and name choice will reside with the fans.

“The roles are now reversed, and we will come out better informed about the fans’ understanding of player chemistry through their team selections.”

From December 13, until 19 2021, fans will be given the reigns to suggest team names as part of the tournament via the SuperSport TV social media pages (Facebook and Twitter).

Cape Town City is among the first teams to welcome the tournament stating on their social media pages: “A new tournament is born!”

Maritzburg United also wrote: “The PSL have announced a new competition called the #DStvCompactCup. The tournament will run from January 22-29, 2022. Fans have the power to vote for their favorite players to represent a regional squad”

Golden Arrows stated: “The PSL announces a new competition to be played January 22 & 29th 2022, called the DStv Compact Cup - The Viewer’s Choice.”

The winner of the innovative tournament will take home one million rands.

The tournament will be split into four groups as follows:

Inland one: Kaizer Chiefs, Swallows, Orlando Pirates, TS Galaxy

Inland two: Sundowns, SuperSport United, Marumo Gallants, Sekhukhune United

Coastal One: Golden Arrows, Royal AM, Maritzburg United, AmaZulu

Coastal Two: Cape Town City, Stellenbosch FC,Chippa United, Baroka.