From Ronaldo, Messi to Lewandowski - Who are the 32 captains set to lead their country in the 2022 FIFA World Cup?

Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski, captains
Getty Images
Goal takes a look at all the captains of the 32 teams that are heading to the 2022 FIFA World Cup...

The 22nd edition of the FIFA World Cup is all set to kick off on November 21, 2022, in Doha, Qatar. 32 teams, including hosts Qatar, have already booked their places in the final round of the tournament.

The top players in world football will be in action contesting for the ultimate glory.

Lionel Messi to Cristiano Ronaldo and Robert Lewandowski, who are in the twilight of their international careers, will be seen donning the captain's armband for their respective countries and will hope to lead their teams to title triumph.

France's Hugo Lloris, who had won the title last year, will be once again leading the team from the front and will hope to become the first captain in history to win back-to-back World Cup titles.

  1. Mathew Ryan (Australia)

    Mathew Ryan (Australia)

    Current club: Real Sociedad

  2. Ehsan Hajsafi (Iran)

    Ehsan Hajsafi (Iran)

    Current club: AEK Athens

  3. Maya Yoshida (Japan)
    Getty Images

    Maya Yoshida (Japan)

    Current club: Sampdoria

  4. Hassan Al-Haydos (Qatar)

    Hassan Al-Haydos (Qatar)

    Current club: Al Sadd

  5. Salman Al-Faraj (Saudi Arabia)
    saudi nt twitter

    Salman Al-Faraj (Saudi Arabia)

    Current club: Al-Hilal

  6. Son Heung-min (South Korea)

    Son Heung-min (South Korea)

    Current club: Tottenham Hotspur

  7. Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon)

    Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon)

    Current club: Al Nassr

  8. Andre Ayew (Ghana)

    Andre Ayew (Ghana)

    Current club: Al Sadd

  9. Romain Saïss (Morocco)

    Romain Saïss (Morocco)

    Current club: Wolves

  10. Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal)
    Getty Images

    Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal)

    Current club: Napoli

  11. Youssef Msakni (Tunisia)

    Youssef Msakni (Tunisia)

    Current club: Al Duhail

  12. Atiba Hutchinson (Canada)
    Getty Images

    Atiba Hutchinson (Canada)

    Current club: Besiktas

  13. Bryan Ruiz (Costa Rica)

    Bryan Ruiz (Costa Rica)

    Current club: Alajuelense

  14. Andres Guardado (Mexico)
    Patrick Smith

    Andres Guardado (Mexico)

    Current club: Real Betis

  15. Christian Pulisic (USA)

    Christian Pulisic (USA)

    Current club: Chelsea

  16. Lionel Messi (Argentina)

    Lionel Messi (Argentina)

    Current club: PSG

  17. Thiago Silva (Brazil)

    Thiago Silva (Brazil)

    Current club: Chelsea

  18. Enner Valencia (Ecuador)
    David Butler II

    Enner Valencia (Ecuador)

    Current club: Fenerbahce

  19. Diego Godin (Uruguay)
    Getty Images

    Diego Godin (Uruguay)

    Current club: Velez Sarsfield

  20. Eden Hazard (Belgium)

    Eden Hazard (Belgium)

    Current club: Real Madrid

  21. Luka Modric (Croatia)

    Luka Modric (Croatia)

    Current club: Real Madrid

  22. Simon Kjaer (Denmark)

    Simon Kjaer (Denmark)

    Current club: AC Milan

  23. Harry Kane (England)

    Harry Kane (England)

    Current club: Tottenham Hotspur

  24. Hugo Lloris (France)

    Hugo Lloris (France)

    Current club: Tottenham Hotspur

  25. Manuel Neuer (Germany)

    Manuel Neuer (Germany)

    Current club: Bayern Munich

  26. Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands)

    Virgil van Dijk (Netherlands)

    Current club: Liverpool

  27. Robert Lewandowski (Poland)
    Getty Images

    Robert Lewandowski (Poland)

    Current club: Bayern Munich

  28. Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)
    Getty Images

    Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal)

    Current club: Manchester United

  29. Dusan Tadic (Serbia)

    Dusan Tadic (Serbia)

    Current club: Ajax

  30. Sergio Busquets (Spain)
    Getty Images

    Sergio Busquets (Spain)

    Current club: FC Barcelona

  31. Granit Xhaka (Switzerland)

    Granit Xhaka (Switzerland)

    Current club: Arsenal

  32. Gareth Bale (Wales)
    Getty Images

    Gareth Bale (Wales)

    Current club: Without a club