News Live Scores
FIFA Club World Cup

How have the Premier League clubs performed at the FIFA Club World Cup?

07:56 GMT+3 13/02/2022
Chelsea Champions celebration
Chelsea became the third Premier League side to win the Club World Cup title...

Chelsea defeated Palmeiras 2-1 to lift their first-ever FIFA Club World Cup title on February 12, 2022, at the Mohammed Bin Zayed Stadium in UAE. In the process, they became the third Premier League club after Manchester United and Liverpool to win the trophy.

The 2021 FIFA Club World Cup was the 18th edition of the competition where six champion clubs from six confederations and host country UAE's champion club took part.

From Europe, Chelsea were competing in the tournament as they were the defending Champions League winners which they won in May 2021 beating Manchester City in the final.

This was only the sixth time in the Club World Cup's history that a Premier League club represented Europe. Before this edition, Liverpool twice (2005 and 2019), Manchester United twice (2000 and 2008) and Chelsea (2012) took part in the competition.

Out of the five occasions in the past where the English clubs took part in the tournament, only twice had they managed to win the competition. Liverpool failed on their first attempt in 2005 when they lost to Sao Paulo in the final but the second time in 2019, they won it beating another Brazilian club Flamengo.

Chelsea played in the tournament in 2012 but lost to Corinthians in the final. Manchester United are the only other English side who have lifted the trophy in 2008, beating Ecuadorian side LDU Quito. The Red Devils also played in the inaugural edition of the tournament back in 2000 along with Real Madrid but they were ousted from the group.

Here's how English clubs have fared in the Club World Cup over the years.

How have Premier League clubs performed in Club World Cup?




Final result


Manchester United

Manchester United 1-1 Necaxa, Manchester United 1-3 Vasco da Gama, Manchester United 2-0 South Melbourne.

Group stage exit




Sao Paulo 1-0 Liverpool


Manchester United


Manchester United 1-0 LDU Quito




Corinthians 1-0 Chelsea




Liverpool 1-0 Flamengo




Chelsea 2-1 Palmeiras