News Matches

One tournament and three cups! Why do Durand Cup winners get three trophies?

05:30 GMT+3 19/09/2022
Bengaluru Durand Cup 2022
Durand Cup is the oldest Asian football tournament

Have you ever seen a team lifting three different trophies after winning a tournament? Well, Bengaluru FC did so after winning the 2022 Durand Cup.

Generally, a team only gets one champion's trophy after winning any tournament.

But India's Durand Cup is an exception to this practice as the organisers offer three different trophies to the winning side.

The Durand Cup is the oldest football tournament in Asia. Founded in 1888, the tournament has seen 130 editions over the years. Once a very prestigious tournament, Durand Cup is currently a pre-season tournament in the Indian football calendar.

All you need to know about the Durand Cup

Founded and named after Mortimer Durand, a foreign secretary to British India, it was initially conducted as a tournament for different departments and regiments of the Armed forces of British India. It was opened to civilians only later.

After India's independence, the Indian Armed Forces remained in charge of the competition.

Kolkata giants East Bengal and Mohun Bagan are the most successful teams in the history of the tournament winning it a record 16 times each.

Royal Scouts Fusiliers were the first-ever winners and Mohammedan Sporting were the first Indian to win the competition. FC Goa are the reigning champions.

Why do Durand Cup winners get three trophies?

Durand Cup winners are presented with three trophies (President's Cup, Shimla Cup and the Durand Cup).

The President's Cup was first handed over to the winners after India's independence by the first Indian president Dr. Rajendra Prasad.

The Shimla Cup was presented for the first time by the residents of Shimla where the tournament was initially held. From 1988 to 1940, the tournament used to be held in Shimla after which it was shifted to the capital Delhi. The Shimla Cup was first awarded in 1904 and since 1965, it has been given regularly to the winners.

And finally, the Durand Cup trophy which was the original prize.

Further read

Durand Cup 2022: Fixtures, Scores, Results, Tables