News Live Scores

Indian Football: Stimac names 25-man squad - Gill, Hormipam, Suhair amongst players who earn maiden India call-up

11:29 GMT+4 21/03/2022
Prabhsukhan Gill, Hormipam Ruivah, Kerala Blasters
Seven new players have been called up by the Croatian coach...

Indian football team head coach Igor Stimac has named the 25-man squad for India's upcoming trip to Bahrain. The Blue Tigers will play two friendlies as part of their preparations for the 2023 Afc Asian Cup third round qualifiers. They will play the first match against the hosts and then will lock horns with Belarus on March 23 and 26 respectively.

The Croatian has called up a bunch of new faces to the Indian team. Kerala Blasters' Prabhsukhan Gill, Hormipam Ruivah, Bengaluru FC's Roshan Singh, Danish Farooq, Hyderabad FC's Aniket Jadhav, NorthEast United's VP Suhair, and FC Goa's Anwar Ali are the players who have got their maiden national team call up.

“I have been watching every single game and admiring the boys for giving everything they have for their clubs,” Stimac expressed. “It’s been terrible for everyone involved since the pandemic started, but the job needs to be done. At the same time, we need to commend the super organisational capabilities of the two Leagues being held simultaneously under current circumstances – that too when footballing activities all over have stumbled a bit.”

Meanwhile, Suresh Singh and Farukh Choudhary have been dropped from the squad that participated in the SAFF Championship due to their injury troubles. Whereas, Sandesh Jhingan makes a comeback after missing out on the SAFF Championship.

Senior players like Gurpreet Singh, Pritam Kotal and regular faces like Liston Colaco, Bipin Singh have found a place in the list. Among the major absentees from the India team are skipper Sunil Chhetri and Sahal Abdul Samad who are nursing injuries currently.

Bahrain are ranked 91st in the FIFA rankings, while Belarus are 94th. India's current ranking is 104. The last time India played any UEFA member association was more than a decade ago in February 2012 against Azerbaijan, a match in which India lost 0-3.

India Squad

Goalkeepers: Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, Amrinder Singh, Prabhsukhan Gill.

Defenders: Pritam Kotal, Seriton Fernandes, Rahul Bheke, Hormipam Ruivah, Chinglensana Singh, Sandesh Jhingan, Roshan Singh, Akash Mishra, Subhasish Bose, Anwar Ali.

Midfielders: Pronay Halder, Brandon Fernandes, Anirudh Thapa, Yasir Md, Bipin Singh, Jeakson Singh, VP Suhair, Aniket Jadhav, Danish Farooq.

Forwards: Manvir Singh, Rahim Ali, Liston Colaco.